He Set the Captive Free

I’ve suffered for most of my life. What one would call pain, I called hell. As I have stated in previous postings, I was homeless for two years, institutionalized, raped, molested, bullied, and a host of other afflictions that would make a body cringe in either sympathy or anguish.

I can identify with people who suffer. Because I have walked those same steps. I have been where you have been. And I have come out on the other side. How, you ask? Well, let me tell you. It was not easy. I had to fight my way out of depression, anxiety, and fear. I pushed myself until I was literally punching through walls of doubt and apprehension. I am now free, in my mind and in my spirit.

Jesus said that He came to set the captives free. He came in order that we might have life and have that life more abundantly, as it is stated in the word of God. I could give a lot of well-sounding and well-meaning anecdotes and formulas for freedom. But, in truth, the only freedom that one will ever find is in Jesus Christ. I found that out when I was writhing in pain and anguish and whilst I languished upon the bed of suffering during the eight months I was bedbound.

What good would it do to gain the whole world and still be in a prison in your mind? Jesus said it best. He said, “For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world and shall lose his  own soul? Or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?” (Matthew 16:26) What good would it do for me to give you all of the encouragement in the world that would empower your mind and yet you remain a captive of the enemy of your very soul, which is satan himself?

The Lord freed me from every fear that I have ever had and delivered me from every affliction and illness that I have ever had. It was God who did it. It was not some feel good or positive thinking. It was the Lord. And He is here to free YOU. You need only to ask Him.

God is here for you. I know that many of you do not believe in Him and that you would prefer to go your own way and find your own path. But any pathway away from the Lord only leads to destruction.

I could write a blog full of encouragements that would make you feel good for the moment and even inspire you to make positive changes in your life, which would benefit you. But only for a short while if that change did not include Jesus Christ.

I have mentioned a few times that I have suffered. To say that I have suffered is an understatement. I have lived the kind of life that would make one cringe and wonder why my mind did not shatter far before it actually did. That would make one question why one is still alive. I can only say that it was the grace and power of our Lord Jesus Christ that kept my mind and healed my body. He gave me the peace that passeth understanding, as it said in God’s word. (And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:7)

I am more than my pain. I am more than what happened to me. I am so much more than my sufferings. I am a born-again woman who has taken much from life and continues to give back as good as I get. I take a lickin’ and come back kickin’. I am more than a conqueror through Him that loves me, as God says in Romans chapter 8.

My life is wonderful. I am at peace in my heart and I have no inner conflict in my mind or soul and that says much. But that is only because of the Lord. Only in God can true peace be found. So, I would be remiss in simply giving you a formula for happiness without telling you where the only true and lasting happiness can be found.

If you do not know Jesus Christ, I encourage you to ask Him into your life. He will take that life and fill it with peace and love. And a joy that is difficult to describe. He will take your twisted circumstances and make them straight. He will make your life new. Do you want true success in life? Then I urge you to try God. Without Him, life is meaningless. But with Him, life is the most beautiful thing there is. The choice is yours.

Blessed be the Name of the Lord.

Leave a Reply

