The Lord is My Shepherd

The Lord is my shepherd. In Him will I trust.

I am going through a horrific period in my life right now. This morning, my mother was buried. I went to the funeral and could not believe that she was encased in that casket. But God was with me. I felt as though I was wrapped in a blanket of compassion and comfort. I did not shed a tear. I just sat and stared at my mother’s casket.

The Lord is so good to me. He has been with me every step of the way since my mom died on Christmas day of 2016. I have been in a state of suspended disbelief and I’m continually startled by the fact that she is gone and God has been present to help me through the grief and the pain. It’s as though He is holding my hand and I am forever grateful, for I did not know how I was going to get through this unbearable loss and grief.

I have been watching the movie “The Gospel of John” over and over and it has ministered to my spirit. Watching and listening to the Lord as He talked to the people and poured out compassion and love upon them brought me closer to Him and it is giving me a greater revelation of Jesus, the One Who loved this world so much that He gave His life for it. Now, that’s love.

My life has been changed by the death of my mother and I will do the best I can to embrace those changes and lean upon the Lord for my help and strength, for He has said that He is my help and my shield. (The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him. Ps.28:7)

The Lord Jesus truly is my shepherd. He leads me and guides me gently. He is never harsh with me and shows incredible patience towards me. He knows me inside out and I have a longing in my heart and soul to know Him in the very same way. I want to know Him intimately. And as I continue to walk with Him, I WILL come to know Him in just such a way. God is good. Praise His wonderful name.

Blessed be the Name of the Lord.

Leave a Reply

